Which U.S. cities have hosted the summer Olympics?

Only three American cities have held the summer Olympics since the start of the modern games in 1896.

St. Louis was the first in 1904, the same year the World’s Fair headed to the Missouri metropolis. The next was Los Angeles, hosting the competition in 1932 and again in 1984. Atlanta would be the last in 1996, though the games are scheduled to return stateside in 2028, once again moving to Los Angeles.

No other nation can claim as many Olympic host cities for the summer games. Counted alongside the winter Olympics, the U.S. leads again with six, due to the sporting event moving to Squaw Valley in 1960, Salt Lake City in 2002, and Lake Placid in both 1932 and 1980.